Posted by & filed under Featured, Features, Music.

UK premiere of new track from Kauan

Kauan - Muistumia album artwork

Kauan came swirling into view recently when they announced they’d be re-releasing a chunk of their early material as one album, to be titled Muistumia.

The band are Russian and Ukrainian in origin, but notably the band’s name – as well as most of the lyrics – are Finnish. “Kauan” roughly translates as “a long time”, but as the band have no known ties to the country – whose language is notoriously difficult to learn – it’s something of an oddity that they chose to do this. More power to them!

We’re pleased to have been contacted by label Blood Music to host the UK premiere of the album’s closing track “Orkidea” (“orchid”, funnily enough). Have a listen!

It’s a nine-minute wander into the cold forests of Scandinavia, utilising some interesting instrumentation and haunting dual male/female vocals to create an affecting soundscape. Great stuff.

Muistumia - “reminiscences” – is the band’s sixth album since they formed in 2007, and is a crowdfunded effort of beautifully re-recorded works from Kauan’s raw early years in Russia.

As well as “Orkidea“, the track list for Muistumia looks like this:

01. Unsoi
02. Aamu Ja Kaste
03. Lumikuuro
04. Koivun Elämä
05. Sumun Syleily
06. Äidin Laulu
07. Orkidea

Blood Music have made something of a name for themselves this year, putting out some stunningly good vinyl releases – famously creating LPs of Cloudkicker‘s creative commons-licensed work – as well as the the multi-editional Moonsorrow collected works box set back in May. The release will include vinyl and CD, and look absolutely great.

Pre-orders begin tomorrow, September 17th at 3PM GMT, at this location. Muistumia will be released November 4th through Blood Music.