Posted by & filed under Featured, Features, Music, News.

UK Premiere of new lyric video from Piano

Piano 2014

Piano, a band named for the popular concert instrument and torture device of pre-teen children since its invention in the early 18th century, have been around for quite a while, but you’d be forgiven if you’d forgotten/missed them, because they’ve been quiet for around six years. Their last release was 2008′s Valediction of Verse, and in the meantime vocalist Dan Tompkins in particular has risen to prominence as the frontman of TesseracT, Skyharbor, In Colour, White Moth Black Butterfly and TesseracT again.

Later this month they’ll be releasing what is actually their first album-length record, titled Salvage Architecture, and we’re proud today to be the UK premiere hotspot for their brand new lyric video for the single “Disappearing Ink” (with our darkest and heaviest eskimo brethren Heavy Blog Is Heavy handling the U.S. premiere).

Have a looksies!

Composer Chris Haywood, who recently toured as part of the White Moth Black Butterfly live band with Dan, said of the forthcoming album:

“All in all, Salvage Architecture represents what must be well in excess of 1000 hours of hard work and constant experimentation, with influences ranging from Placebo, Glassjaw, Isis as well as Classical and Jazz music”

As a big fan of Placebo, Glassjaw AND ISIS (not the militant religious group, obviously), this is bang up my alley, with jazz hands and a sparkly feather boa to match. Count me in.

Chris and Jeremy have been writing this album since Valediction of Verse, so they’re understandably keen to get it out there. The entire whole process has taken more than six years and several hundred miles – the writing and recording process has taken them to London, Somerset, Nottinghamshire, Dorset, and even Paris – and the new record is “harder, more challenging, and has taken more work than anything the band have ever done before”. Bravo, chaps.

Tracklist will look something like this:

01. Inspire
02. Expire
03. Disappearing Ink
04. Scalene
05. Forensics
06. Dust To Dust
07. Neptune
08. Nostalgia Is A Weapon
09. Ruin Ethics
10. In Memoriam

Salvage Architecture will be released on September 17th through Zestone Records.