Posted by & filed under Features, Music.

Good Apollo IV is Ten Years Old

Coheed and Cambria Good Apollo 1
01. Keeping The Blade
02. Always And Never
03. Welcome Home
04. Ten Speed (Of God’s Blood and Burial)
05. Crossing The Frame
06. Apollo I: The Writing Writer
07. Once Upon Your Dead Body
08. Wake Up
09. The Suffering
10. The Lying Lies & Dirty Secrets Of Miss Erica Court
11. Mother May I
12. The Willing Well I: Fuel For The Feeding End
13. The Willing Well II: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness
14: The Willing Well III: Apollo II: The Telling Truth
15: The Willing Well IV: The Final Cut

It’s been ten long years since Coheed and Cambria put out their third album Good Apollo, I’m Burning Star IV, Volume One: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness. A continuation in their Amory Wars series of albums that began in 2002 with The Second Stage Turbine Blade, this multi-album concept arc was and still remains a groundbreaking seven records long.

Following the stories of Coheed and Cambria Kilgannon, and their fight against antagonist Wilhelm Ryan, and encompassing tales of mystery, intrigue and suspense all located within the fictional universe of Heaven’s Fence.

With Good Apollo IV, the narrative takes a step back from the protagonists and instead breaks the fourth wall, flitting between the character and writer Claudio – a somewhat confusing notion when reading the graphic novel that accompanies the album (as both characters look quite similar), but it really does make sense, promise!

It was in fact with this album that brought Coheed’s concept based prog epics to the mainstream. Mostly thanks to the totally anthemic lead single “Welcome Home“, a progressive masterpiece that showcases the band’s dedication to the art, and more importantly lets vocalist and mastermind Claudio Sanchez’s vocal shine though.

Whilst this record clocks in at just over seventy minutes long, it never once outstays its welcome or feels contrived. In fact, Good Apollo IV fleshes out the Amory Wars universe perfectly. From the straight up alt rock anthem “Welcome Home” to the heart breaking and compelling “Wake Up“, the album is a perfect culmination of progressive rock and emo elements, which still retains a level of freshness it had when it was first released.

Adam writer banner