Posted by & filed under Music, News.

Hear This Will Destroy You’s brand new album in full

This Will Destroy You - Another Language album artwork

Within the last couple of months, we started a series of posts – one every Wednesday evening – called ‘Epic Wednesdays’, which are basically just an excuse to throw up awesome instrumental, post-rock and soundtrack-style albums. Once I learned to drive when I was 18, I used to spend most of this particular time of the week rocking these kinds of records in the countryside surrounding Malvern with my friends. It was a bit of a ritual, and where my deep love of this style of music comes from.

One of the bands my cohorts and I bonded over was This Will Destroy You, one of the many awesome Texan post-rock bands, who incidentally have a brand new album coming out.

It’s called Another Language and is due out this Friday through Suicide Squeeze Records. As expected with most big albums, there’s a stream of it up, and it’s over at Pitchfork.

I’m a few tracks in as I write this, and it’s very…them. I admit that I wasn’t sold on Tunnel Blanket, their last full-length, so much, but the qualities I enjoyed most about Young Mountain and This Will Destroy You are back in abundance; the quiet/loud dynamics, the fuzzy quality of some of the sounds the create, and the relatively simple pallete they utilise. TWDY have described the album as “doomgaze”, which is a fair descriptor

Word is that the band had a ”prolonged vacuous dark period that threatened to break both the band and the members themselves”, which is equally troublesome and relieving (they obviously got over it, at least long enough to write and record it – a reported 18 month period from February 2013 until now). What has come out is something that sounds a lot lighter than you might imagine after that, and whilst it’s not as warm as, say, Young Mountain, it’s going to be getting repeated listens for sure.

Another Language is out September 12th through Suicide Squeeze. You can order it from the label here!

The band are currently on tour across Europe, having by all accounts smashed ArcTanGent recently. I missed their London show last week because I am a divot and didn’t know about it, but here are the remaining dates:

Wed 10 Sep – GERMANY LEIPZIG Conne Island
Fri 12 Sep – DENMARK AARHUS Postfest
Sun 14 Sep – GERMANY BIELEFELD Forum
Mon 15 Sep – CZECH REPUBLIC PRAGUE Rock Cafe
Wed 17 Sep – POLAND WARSAW Klub Hydrozagadka
Thu 18 Sep SLOVAKIA BRATISLAVA Batelier Club
Fri 19 Sep NETHERLANDS TILBURG Incubate
Sat 20 Sep SWITZERLAND ST. GALLEN Grabenhalle
Sun 21 Sep SWITZERLAND FRIBOURG Fri-Son
Mon 22 Sep AUSTRIA INNSBRUCK PMK
Tue 23 Sep ITALY PADOVA Mame
Wed 24 Sep ITALY ROME Circolo degli Artisti
Thu 25 Sep ITALY MILAN Leoncavallo (tickets available on the door)
Fri 26 Sep SWITZERLAND ZURICH Bogen F
Sat 27 Sep GERMANY WIESBADEN @ Schlachthof

Chris

Comments

comments