Posted by & filed under Music, News.

Entrails Unveil New Track For Their Third Album


Swedish death metal act Entrails are an interesting band. Originally, they formed in 1990, but it turned out to be a false start. They were never satisfied with any of their recordings at the time, so they chose never to release anything, causing the band to die out. However, they were resurrected back in 2008 by guitarist and lead songwriter, Jimmy Lundqvist. In his words:

I was too nostalgic and said to myself that: Now, many years after the band died, my songs must be recorded and a demo shall be made, so I started the band again on my own


In 2009 Lundqvist was joined by bassist and vocalist Jocke Svensson and they released two demo’s together. A year later they added drummer and backup vocalist Adde Mitroulis and second guitarist Mathias Nilsson, thus solidifying the Entrails line-up. They put out their debut album, Tales From The Morgue, in 2010, which received strong reviews, despite the band mostly passing under the radar. A year later they released their sophomore album and a similar thing happened, though this time they did attract the attention of Metal Blade Records.
Now, with the power of Metal Blade behind them Entrails are gearing up to release their third album, fittingly titled Raging Death because as the band comments:

This is the perfect next step for Entrails. A massive stench of death, right in your face! Raging Death as a title suited the album as a whole, since it’s pure death metal without mercy!


Entrails - Raging Death


The new, striking cover art for Raging Death can be seen above – it certainly suits their mandate! But what about their music? Well, here’s the tracklist for the album:

1. In Pieces
2. Carved To The Bone
3. Blood Hammer
4. Headless Dawn
5. Cadaverous Stench
6. Descend To The Beyond
7. Death League
8. Chained And Dragged
9. Defleshed
10. Cemetery Horrors


So far, so good. All suitably death metal. BUT WHAT ABOUT THE MUSIC?! Well, luckily Metal Blade have just released the first track from the album for listening. “In Pieces” is certainly what the death metal doctor ordered. It’s eviscerating straight forward death metal, complete with the buzzsaw riffing style synonymous with classic Swedish death metal. Entrails have a great Entombed vibe about them, which of course is great news for fans of old school death metal.

Everything I’m seeing about this band indicates that fans of straight forward, but strong brutality will not be disappointed by Raging Death. The album was mixed and mastered by the almighty Dan Swano and his great work is demonstrated through the really crisp and powerful production that really augments this album into delivering a swift punch to the stomach.

Raging Death will be released on the 10th/13th May via Metal Blade Records in Europe on vinyl, as a limited digi-cd with bonus CD and as a jewel case CD. In North American the CD will be released on May 14th. The European version will include a cover of Marduk‘s classic track “Dark Endless” as a bonus. Sorry non-European readers! Pre-order Raging Death here.

What do you think? Is this your style of death metal? What death metal albums are you looking forward to this year? Sound off in the comments!

Quigs Author banner