Posted by & filed under Music, News.


The Lord Weird Slough Feg, or nowadays just Slough Feg, are a San Francisco-based but Pennsylvannia-born heavy metal band who have been around for decades. Formed in 1990, and having gone through on average one new member every two years or so, the band may be called ‘weathered’ – however, in their current form, the line-up has been stable since 2007. Anyfuck, it’s a weird name the group have chosen, and it covers up what a seriously pleasant music they actually play.

The group seem to be bookworms; they are named after a the main antagonist in the British barbarian fantasty comic book Sláine - an ancient, rotting horned god into his cave paintings and they also named their second album after a book by nineteenth century philosopher Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche, originally titled Götzen-Dämmerung, oder, Wie man mit dem Hammer philosophiert (Twilight of the Idols in English).

If none of this is news to you, the following might not be either. However, for everyone else, Slough Feg joining Metal Blade might be news – and moreover, as a part of that, three of the group’s classic records have been re-released as a box set!

The albums in question are the aforementioned Twilight of the Idols (1999), Down Among the Deadmen (2000) and Traveller (2003). Modern – by a standard that allows calling albums of up to fourteen years old modern – classics that relive the 1980’s of metal in NWOBHM style. In short: stuff that still works.

The full three-disc box set may be picked up from Metal Blade Records now! Unfortunately the band haven’t toured for some time, so you’ll have to make do with this for the time being!

The Baboon writer banner