Posted by & filed under Music, News.

Musically important news: Godspeed You! Black Emperor announce new album

Godspeed You! Black Emperor - Godspeed You! Black Emperor - Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light! (excerpt)

Yeah, just all fuckin’ casual like. “Oh, here’s something and some stuff about a new album and a bit of music and see ya later” – GY!BE

That’s right folks: the Canadian post-rock giants Godspeed You! Black Emperor are going to release a new album this year, and have dropped a large chunk of a new track.

Seen by some they’re seen as the “hipsters’ choice” in arty bands, they’re nevertheless of massive importance to a lot of people – myself included. Slow Riot For New Zerø Kanada has made me feel things consistently since I first heard it almost a decade ago, and sits at the very top of my musical pantheon. Beyond that, each album has meant something special to me in some way, and 2012′s ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! was such a fantastic return that I can’t help but be massively excited by this news.

Said news came today via their label Constellation Records, who had a lot to say on it. Go read this, but the most pertinent quotes talk about the music in some detail:


GYBE has gradually distilled this new work down to a fastidious and uncompromising essence in the studio, with the swing-time swagger of the opening unison riff in “Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’” giving way to increasing microtonal divergences and an exhilarating immersion in the harmonic power of massed amplified instruments, before collapsing into some of the most visceral and unalloyed noise/drone the band has yet committed to tape on “Lambs’ Breath” and “’Asunder, Sweet’”. The album closes with “Piss Crowns Are Trebled”, a classic 14-minute piece of vintage Godspeed, where ascending and descending guitar and violin melodies intertwine over gut-rattling distorted bass in 3/4 time, segueing into a pummeling four-on-the-floor series of sparkling, soaring crescendos

Doesn’t that sound sick? Doesn’t it?!

As mentioned, a large chunk of some of that first track has been dropped via Soundcloud. ”Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!” it its name, and it will feature on the new record which is titled Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress. This chunk is almost eight minutes long, and can be heard right…


Wild. Textured. Dramatic. Uncomfortable. These are a few of the many words that jump to mind. I’m not claiming the second coming here, and my mind is very full of hyperbole, but this is going to be a big one for me, and I hope for you too.

The album will run at just over 40 minutes, and so is about half the length of most GY!BE LPs, but as they say, that will surely just make for a focussed and tight piece of work. I’m excited.

Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress comes out March 31st via Constellation Records, and you can pre-order it here.