Posted by & filed under Music, News.

Greetings and salutations, acolytes. For the uninitiated, your Esteemed Professor is a devotee of punk legends Bad Religion, a band I would deem one of the greatest punk bands ever due to their mastery of their craft. Indeed, it is the band’s combination of highly intelligent lyrics (crafted by vocalist Greg Graffin, who bears a Ph.D. from Cornell and has taught courses at both Cornell and UCLA), lush vocal harmonies, and hard-driving punk riffing that truly set them apart from their peers. It is important to note, as well, that the band has been going strong for 30 years, and although their later work doesn’t quite hold up to the seminal releases from the late 80′s/early 90′s (the four-album chain of Suffer, No Control, Against The Grain, and Generator would be nigh impossible to top for any band), there is no question that Bad Religion are still going strong.

The band’s 2007 release, New Maps Of Hell, stands as one of the finest of their career, often reaching the heights of the aforementioned quartet of releases with only a few minor missteps. The follow-up, 2010′s The Dissent Of Man, was an uneven record, but still flashed plenty of the greatness Bad Religion is known for. On Nov. 5th, the band announced that their forthcoming new album, entitled True North, will be released on January 22nd, 2013, and unveiled the album’s lead single, the subtly-titled ‘Fuck You’.

The song is classic Bad Religion from start to finish. Clocking in at just over two minutes long, ‘Fuck You’ packs catchy punk riffing together with the band’s trademark group vocal harmonies and Graffin’s thoughtful lyrics, adding in a guitar solo as an added bonus. Reportedly, this is a blueprint for the album, which promises to feature 16 short, fast songs, hopefully capturing the energy of the band’s heyday. The tracklist is as follows:

01. True North (1:56)
02. Past is Dead (2:39)
03. Robin Hood in Reverse (2:53)
04. Land of Endless Greed (1:53)
05. Fuck You (2:14)
06. Dharma and the Bomb (2:00)
07. Hello Cruel World (3:50)
08. Vanity (1:02)
09. In Their Hearts is Right (1:59)
10. Crisis Time (2:39)
11. Dept. of False Hope (2:40)
12. Nothing To Dismay (2:07)
13. Popular Consensus (1:53)
14. My Head is Full of Ghosts (1:46)
15. The Island (2:23)
16. Changing Tide (2:23)

It should go without saying that I am extremely eager to immerse myself in True North. There is a dearth of good punk rock being made in this day and age, an age where the once-proud bastion of punk, the Vans Warped Tour, has become little better than a joke. It is my sincere hope that Bad Religion can continue to carry the flag for punk rock the way it should be made. You can hear ‘Fuck You’ here: