Posted by & filed under Featured Music, Music, Reviews.

In the second part of our Innervenus Music Collective double feature, we review Lycosa’s self-titled debut EP. Read the first part here!

Lycosa - Lycosa

[12th February 2013]
[Innervenus Music Collective]

01. Barbara
02. Double Barrel
03. Circles
04. Did We Have Sex
05. 24 Becomes 0
06. Burn In Hell (Twisted Sister cover)


Lycosa’s début EP is an odd one to describe. If one can imagine a pitcher of beer clad in denim, smoking a joint and still throwing itself around the moshpit giggling, then you’re somewhat scratching the surface. “Sludgy death-thrash” may be a more succinct term – not to ignore the discordant post-hardcore elements – but in any case, the six songs present are intriguing slabs of fuzzy thrashing metal. The occasionally dissonant riffs thunder over the bass guitar rumble, drums set a frenetic pace, and the wrath of madman-frontman Brandon Leech is felt strongly in his hectic screamed and bellowed vocals. Fans of Eyehategod and The Melvins, take note.

Barbara” and “Double Barrel” start the EP in a strident fashion, throwing in a few headbangs to get the crowd warmed up. However, it’s on “Circles” that the band really aim below the belt, with a potent stoner riff charging headlong into a death metal moment. Amy Bianco’s bass, drowning in overdrive, is nothing short of a headphone-wrecker. “24 Becomes 0” is the last of this particular style, a mid-tempo yet thrashy number that still remembers to pack itself full of stoner groove.

On the other side, Lycosa are a band who clearly know how to party. “Did We Have Sex”, while not exactly upbeat, swings from a subdued riff to full-blown chaos and back again at the drop of a hat, while “24 Becomes 0” includes a soundbyte at the end of the band chatting and messing around after the song finishes. However, the real party arrives with the final track, a garage-based cover of Twisted Sister‘s “Burn In Hell”, which somehow keeps to the band’s style while retaining the party-hearty atmosphere of the original. The comical laughter before the chorus cements this, as does the semi-jesting punk-tinged singing underneath the hardcore screams, while the screams themselves continue long after the song is done.

For those who find hurtling sludgy riffs, throat-shredding vocals and crashing drums like dulcet tones, Lycosa are a must-spin. Considering this is a first release, and an EP at that, expect greater (and wackier) things from these guys and gal.


Angel writer banner