Posted by & filed under Music, News.

Maximum The Hormone deliver two of the weirdest music videos you’ll see this year to celebrate the release of their new album!

Maximum The Hormone

Maximum the Hormone, everyone’s favourite psychopaths from The Land of the Rising Sun are releasing their first new album in SIX YEARS tomorrow. If you haven’t heard of these guys before, they are essentially the alien lovechild of System of a Down, some fucked up grindcore and… well, Japan. Delightfully weird, these guys have been quite a big deal over there for some time, although they only achieved relative Western success with the release of the Deathnote anime, which utilised their aggressively catchy tune “WHAT’S UP PEOPLE?!” as its theme tune. Here it is now, if you want an insight into their style before checking out the new album. This song is probably the most accessible for new listeners.

Their fifth studio album, Yoshu Fukushu, is released today and in order to celebrate this comeback, they have released two songs from the album in the past month – complete with music videos!

The first of these two videos, “A.L.I.E.N“, is…well, I can’t really put it into words. It lulls you into a false sense of security with what appears to be a standard metal video, however that doesn’t last long. I won’t say anything more on the matter, except “STOP! STOP WINNY UPLOAD!”. Just watch it. Thank me later.

The video lulls you into a false sense of security with what appears to be a bog standard metal video, with some well shot, but uninspiring live footage, however that doesn’t last long. What we’re then faced with are a series of oddities that words just don’t do justice to. Musically the song ranges from hilarious J-Pop to ridiculously erratic grind, like a rabid hound that can’t quite make up it’s mind, and yet, as always, Maximum The Hormone display a startlingly strong sense of composition and cohesion between the disparate elements. Oh, and there’s also a breakdown so heavy that it’s almost a slam.

The next video is the title track, “Yoshu Fukushu“. If you haven’t realised by now that “weird” is a running theme with this band, then this will surely convince you.

This video has been shot very well, with some fantastic visuals and beautiful moments, sporadically interrupted by jagged, dark scenes and some impeccable animations. The music is less intense than “A.L.I.E.N“, but it does have its powerful moments. Additionally, the melodious chanting, the serene arpeggiated chords and the subtle changes really make this song. Wait, did I say subtle? I meant not subtle. At all. But that’s part of the appeal!

As you probably guessed, there is oh so much more on the album. It is a gloriously bizarre listen, just like the rest of their catalogue, and I urge you to check them out.

The track listing is as follows;

01.Yoshu Fukushu [Our Merciless Home'war'k]
02. Bluetiful Intro:Tsukino Bakugeki-ki
03. Utsukushikihitobitonouta [Ode to Bluetiful People]
04. Benjo Sandal Dance [Toilet Sandal Dance]
05. Chu2 The Beam [8th Grader Beam]
06. “F”
07. Tsume Tsume Tsume
08. Rock Oreimairi~3 Chords de Omae Fullbocco~ [Rocking Retaliation: Beat the Hell out of You with 3 Chords]
09. Unbelievable!: Swomints Hockeleiro Mifeho
10. A-L-I-E-N
11. My girl
12. Mesubuta no Ketsu ni Binta(Kick mo) [Bitch Ass Slapping: and Kicking]
13. Beauty Killosseum
14. Maximum the Hormone
15. Koino Sperm [Amorous Sperm]

The special edition also comes with 5 mangas and a 156 page book describing the inspiration of several songs. It is certainly worth picking up if you are a fan!

What do you guys think? Are you a fan of Maximum The Hormone? Do you like new stuff? Will you be buying the special edition?