Posted by & filed under Music, News.

Ayreon detail the tracklisting and exhaustive guest list of their new album

Ayreon Everything

Ayreon, the main musical project for prog rock master Arjen Lucassen and one of my favourite bands ever, are set to release another album. Arjen has been teasing us for months and he finally relented and gave us a release date and tracklisting for the album, as well as a full list of the guest musicians appearing on the album (one of the things he’s been teasing us with over the past month or so).

And man oh man, I think this album, titled The Theory of Everything, may just be Arjen completely jumping the prog-shark. The list of guest musicians includes singers Marco Heitala (Nightwish), John Wetton (King Crimson, Asia), Tommy Karevik (Seventh Wonder, Kamelot), and Cristina Scabbia (Lacuna Coil). The real treat is in the keyboardists and guitarists though, with the likes of Keith Emerson, Steve Hackett, Rick Wakeman, Jordan Rudess, and Troy Donockley providing their services to this monster prog rock album.

The release date for the album will be October 28th, which is good news, since I recall Arjen saying he might not get it out until next year. Even better news is the tracklisting, which reveals that The Theory of Everything, will be four 20 minute epics split into 42 tracks and spread over two discs. In other words, this will be a completely over the top awesome album.

This will be the first Ayreon album since 2008’s 01011001, though Arjen has kept busy in that time releasing three albums under different projects, all of them excellent. He is a master of quality. Unlike all other Ayreon albums, The Theory of Everything will take place with a completely new storyline, unrelated to anything previous. One has to be quite excited for what this will offer up in terms of themes and music.

What do you guys think? Does this album just sound like it will be insane? Are you excited? Is it all just too much prog? Sound off in the comments!

Orsaeth writer banner