Posted by & filed under Music, News.

Opeth’s follow-up to Heritage will be called Pale Communion

opeth band 2

It’s kind of weird that a new Opeth album is greeted with mixed reactions these days. After the divisive Heritage in 2011, and frontman Mikael Åkerfeldt’s announcement that he will no longer use harsh vocals – only singing (which he does very well, to be fair to the man) – it’s fair to say a few fans fell off the wagon. Or got on one going the other way – I’m not sure what the correct analogy would be.

Nevertheless, a new Opeth album is nearly upon us, and has been teased since before Christmas, but without much fanfare. It’s not really their style I suppose, but they did allow our bum chum at Metal Injection Greg Kennelty a sneak peek a few weeks back, and he goes into some depth about what each track offers in this article. For his own part, Åkerfeldt said in a recent interview with Noisey:

“I wanted to do something more melodic with this album… there’s stronger vocal melodies and more melodies overall… I was pretty consistent with that frame of mind throughout the writing process.”

The album goes on pre-order in a few weeks - Tuesday, May 6th to be precise – and all buying ahead of time will receive a free download of track two, “Cusp Of Eternity.” For the record, the full tracklisting looks like this:

01. Eternal Rains Will Come
02. Cusp of Eternity
03. Moon Above, Sun Below
04. Elysian Woes
05. Goblin
06. River
07. Voice of Treason
08. Faith in Others

The record has been produced by Åkerfeldt himself, with the legendary Steven Wilson of Porcupine Tree on mixing duties.

In other news, Opeth are currently working on a book, and are seeking to gauge fan interest by asking you to sign up to a mailing list if such a thing might be something you’d like to purchase. Here’s the gist:

To celebrate 25 years of making glorious music, Mikael and the band have teamed up with Rocket 88 to create the first official Opeth book.

For the first time the whole band have told their story – and they’ve included the good, the bad and the ugly aspects of life in Opeth – in their own words. There are also contributions from former members, label bosses, management, producers and the people who’ve been there with Opeth during their amazing career.

Opeth’s long and winding story is illustrated throughout with rare and previously unseen images of life on the road, on stage, in the studio and hanging out at various locations around the world. You couldn’t get closer to Opeth than in the pages of this book.

London-based publisher Rocket 88 are handling distribution duties, and have previously worked on Dream Theater‘s Lifting Shadows amongst other titles.