Posted by & filed under Music, News.

Cathartic hardcore from The Prestige’s forthcoming second album

The Prestige Bete Noire video

Bank Holidays are a great time to sift through the inbox. With our limited resources, we’re often only able to talk about what’s already known to us, but opportunities such as this offer us the chance to stumble upon some hidden gems lurking in the mail sack.

The first link I clicked on today was for a video from Parisian hardcore band The Prestige. Good fucking start.

The quartet are gearing up for the release of their second LP Amer (which translates to ‘bitter’), and the track is called “Bête Noire” – literally ‘black beast’, or more abstractly, it refers to someone who is a figure of hate; a pariah.

The video takes the phrase both literally and metaphorically, cutting performance footage with that of an adorable dog trotting around the streets – but all alone. Poor thing. Here it is:

It’s visceral stuff, trading furious riffs and a melancholy, wailing guitar off against each other, with the central line ”I am the son of black love” delivered by vocalist Alex with punishing rage.

Looking back into their earlier work, it’s clear this band are talented. Their debut album Black Mouths offers unpolished malice in the vein of Norma Jean spliced with Converge; breathless and caustic, but cut with dynamism (closing track Hooks & Lips is a treat).

Back to the forthcoming record, its track list looks a little something like this:

The Prestige - Amer album art
01. Amer
02. Bête noire
03. Léger de main
04. Enfants terribles
05. Voir Dire
06. Négligée
07. Ingénue
08. Marquee
09. Apaches
10. Petite mort
11. Cri de coeur

In case you missed it (as we did), here’s an earlier track – “Léger de Main” (“Lightweight Hand”) from the album, premiered last month:

Amer will be available worldwide via the band’s own Nature Morte imprint on April 20th, 2015, and is available for pre-order from this location. Distribution will also be handled by Enjoyment Records (UK), Basement Apes (FR), Imminence Records (US), Dingleberry Records & Distribution (GER) & Bad Mood Records (CH)