Posted by & filed under Music, News.

“Atlas Novus” – the new atlas – from Scale The Summit

Scale The Summit - The Migration

Texan instrumental prog outfit Scale The Summit‘s new record The Migration is creeping up on us quickly – it’s only three weeks away now – and so it’s no surprise that a new song has surfaced in anticipation.

The first track “Odyssey“, which inexplicably we didn’t cover when it came out a month ago, is a pacey, heavy affair by the band’s usual standards; it’s a bit more riffy, with a speedy lead over the top keeping pace. If anything I’d compare it

The brand new track, called “Atlas Novus” is also pretty up-tempo, but is noticeably softer in comparison. The tapping leads over the top of the warm bass keep the mood light, with the drums accentuating nicely. This is bassist Mark Michell’s first record as part of the group, and he’s making good account of himself so far.

These two tracks make up the opening salvo of The Migration, whose full tracklist looks like this:

01. Odyssey
02. Atlas Novus
03. The Olive Tree
04. Narrow Salient
05. Oracle
06. Evergreen
07. The Dark Horse
08. Willow
09. Sabrosa
10. The Traveler”

With frequent prog collaborator Jamie King (who has worked with Between The Buried And Me, Last Chance To Reason and White Arms Of Athena) at the production helm, this is likely to sound just as good right the way through as their previous effort The Collective.

Scale The Summit are due to head out across North America with Intronaut and Mouth Of The Architect from the beginning of next month, dates for which can be found in our events calendar.

The Migration will be out June 11th via Prosthetic Records

Disinformasiya banner