Posted by & filed under Music, Reviews.

Coshish Firdous - Album Cover (Poster)[2nd September 2013]
[Universal Music]

01. Firdous
02. Raastey
03. Coshish
04. Behti Boondein
05. Who Kho Gaye
06. Hum Hai Yahin
07. Maya
08. Rehne Do
09. Bhula Do Unhey
10. Mukti

India is a part of the world that really does not have any voice in the prog rock scene, so it is certainly refreshing to see some music coming from there in the form of prog rock band Coshish. They were signed to Universal Music and in September they released their debut album, Firdous; a journey of spiritual enlightenment using progressive rock as the vessel.

Firdous is a very pleasant album to listen to. Musically, everything just feels nice to the ears; nothing dissonant or angry here. For the most part it is fairly light – until the last song “Mukti”, which sports some heavy, crunching riffs and a darker, more mystical atmosphere. That track is entirely instrumental, and might be the best song on the album.

That isn’t to discredit the vocalist, though. The vocals on this album are really lovely to listen to. Lead vocalist Mangesh Gahdi has a really smooth, light voice that conveys tons of emotion. Even singing in another language, it is easy to tell that he really feels strongly about the subject matter and truly connects with the story. In fact, all the band members seem to get into it, transfusing the recording with a spiritual nature.

The composition feels very deliberate, taking its time and not rushing anything. Despite the lack of aggression, there is still energy in here, but it is a peaceful energy; it’s very positive, even during the more intense moments. The production on this album is also really nice; it’s relaxed and positive, which is a very common theme. The guitar leads are really flowing and melodic, and rhythm section is tight but not uptight.

The album’s concept is really worth mentioning, because it is quite intriguing. The band sing entirely in their native language of Hindi, which has a beautiful quality to it, lending itself perfectly to the sound, but the band were kind enough to provide with a partial explanation of the concept contained within. Also included with the digipack are photographs with the lyrics on them and are important to the story, which, in simple terms, is about a man who has a wonderful life only to see it all fall to pieces. He then sets out to seek spiritual enlightenment. The whole story is more complex than that, and really worth looking into. The interesting thing about it is that the songs tell the story out of order, due to the fact that it is being told through the eyes of a man who discovers these photographs that tell the story of another man.

Firdous is a really lovely album. It has smooth, creamy musical tone, a beautiful songwriting that adds hints of music from their native India, and quite the fascinating underlying concept. The vocals are quite gorgeous, the Hindi language flows with the music really nicely. Instrumentally, it feels really floaty, but emotionally involved and really quite pleasant. That word, pleasant, is really what sums up Firdous. Recommended for fans of 70s classic prog rock such as Genesis, as well as Porcupine Tree and Tool.

Best songs: “Mukti“, “Raastey“, “Behti Boondein


Kevin writer banner Jan 2014