Posted by & filed under Music, Reviews.

Destiny Potato - Lun album art[13th May 2014]

01. The Build
02. Indifferent
03. Take A Picture
04. Machine
05. Love Song
06. Lunatic
07. Walls Of Thoughts
08. Blue Sun
09. U.Y.M.
10. Lost Dream
11. House Of Lies
12. Addict

Equipped with possibly the most preposterous band name in progressive metal, Serbia’s Destiny Potato exploded onto the scene shortly after their inception in 2011. Together with early support from the folks behind the Euroblast festival, they were snapped up very quickly by Century Media. The band began work on their debut album, Lun - then things fell worryingly quiet.

But, maybe a little later than first anticipated, the album is now with us. Century are no longer in the equation, but the split was obviously amicable enough for the band to have retained the rights to the recordings, so Lun is now an entirely independent release.

Destiny Potato’s creative engine room is clearly the mind of guitarist David Maxim Micic. Whetting our appetites with his notably splendid solo effort Bilo 3.0 at the end of last year, the songs that comprise Lun carry many of the hallmarks that made Bilo 3.0 such a compelling release -but make no mistake; however agreeable a prospect it may be, Lun isn’t just Bilo 4.0.

For all of its progressive flourishes, Lun is at its core a very poppy record. Accessible, catchy tunes come equipped with riotously strong choruses that are prime earworm fodder. Although the guitar tones in particular are very much of the moment, the grooves of the uptempo numbers owe more to the more thoughtful end of nu-metal than to djent. Yet more flavour is added through the influence, and instrumentation, of traditional Eastern European folk music.

Destiny Potato take basic the framework of a band like Evanescence, but instead of a cynically contrived parade of tired cliche, Destiny Potato inject the joyous bombast of Devin Townsend‘s Deconstruction, the weight and soulfulness of early Sevendust, and the quirky imaginativeness of Stolen Babies. In particular, the combination of David’s swaggering riffs and Alexsandra Djelmas’ sultry vocals make Lun possibly the sexiest metal album you’ll hear all year.

It is on third track “Take A Picture” where all the elements first combine into something truly head-turning, with its jagged, stop-start verses leading to a sumptuous chorus. Possibly the highlight of the album follows shortly afterwards with the pairing of “Love Song” and “Lunatic“. Both songs showcase Destiny Potato’s desire to broaden the sonic palette with additional instrumentation. The former sees a violin snaking between the other instruments and Alexsandra’s soaring and thoroughly alluring vocal melody. “Lunatic“, on the other hand, warmly welcomes an accordion into the mix in a fashion that makes clear it is not just a gimmicky novelty.

Lun comfortably takes changes of pace and tone in its stride, with occasional blast-beats and death growls sitting alongside delicate ballads. “Wall of Thoughts” starts with a quiet vulnerability before erupting into a defiantly heavy bridge that melts away as quickly as it appears.

In short, Lun is an intoxicating and exotic surprise. The depth and maturity of the songwriting is particularly notable given that this is a debut release. The quality and inventiveness of musicianship is also exemplary throughout the entire band, so we can only hope that this is just the beginning of a rich and varied career.

As an independent release, Lun is available digitally through the band’s Bandcamp page. If you are in the mood for a romantic and surprising adventure through a Tim Burton-esque progressive metal landscape, you really need look no further. Outstanding stuff.