Posted by & filed under Music, Reviews.


edityourhometown - Calypso Supernova album art

Calypso Supernova

18th September 2015 – Self-released

01. Bannoffee Death Battle
02. Cranefly’s Casting Couch Conundrum
03. Non-Toxic Dollhouse
04. Bipolar Bear
05. Newton’s Flaming Lazer Sword

When bands give their songs weird titles, it’s often the most interesting thing about them. This is decidedly not so with Brighton math rock outfit edityourhometown, whose new EP Calypso Superova gives the impression of being “OMG rAnDoM!!1″, meshing a multitude of styles and instruments, all the while worming its insidious little hooks into your ears. Sneaky.

The thing is, for all its many and varied styles, Calypso Supernova genuinely flows as one continuous piece of music – albeit one with poor concentration and a joyful lust for life. The math rock genre, in many ways freed from the constraints of its closest brethren and prone to experimentation, is a perfect playground for the talented group. Pairing ska with gang vocals, screams with big rocky riffs, and delay-ridden guitar lines with Twilight Zone samples, the EP takes chances, but takes them at a running jump and sticks the landing with aplomb. Moments of Down I Go‘s off-kilter strangeness, the twangly sound of Minus The Bear and the energy and ingenuity of the Red Hot Chili Peppers all trade off to create twenty two-odd minutes of accessible and ultimately catchy music without ever confusing itself.

Even within passages with repeated lyrics, edityourhometown switch things up, never content to do things the same way twice: “Cranefly’s Casting Couch Conundrum” line “There’s something in the water and it’s cold” morphs from sparse, falsetto-backed moodiness into plucked guitars and the noticeably British inflection of Ian Coulson’s singing, to a section all aggression and post-hardcore edge. It’s astute and thoroughly enjoyable – and quotable as fuck, as per much of the EP’s lyrical content.

There’s instrumental diversity too, although it’s by calculation rather than through haphazard overstuffing. The introductory synths on “Bannoffee Death Battle” soon give way to more standard rock instrumentation, but rear their head in all the right places. Ian’s flute on “Newton’s Flaming Lazer Sword” is a touch of genius, and the sheer variety of tones and inflections wrought from every tool edityourhometown choose to use is exhaustive.

Calypso Supernova is an EP of which the band should rightfully be proud. There’s depth, nuance, clattering highs and more than enough meat to chew on repeat listens – plus it’s just a lot of fun. The vocal performance is varied and characterful, the songwriting complex and inventive, and the ultimate conclusion extremely satisfying.

Buy: Bandcamp