Posted by & filed under Music, Reviews.

Feed The Rhino

Feed The Rhino - The Silence album art

The Silence

16th February 2018 –

01. Timewave Zero
02. Heedless
03. Losing Ground
04. 68
05. All Work And No Play Makes Jack A Dull Boy
06. Yellow And Green
07. Nerve Of A Sinister Killer
08. Fences
09. The Silence
10. Lost In Proximity
11. Featherweight

No-one quite knew whether Feed The Rhino were going to call it day. After cancelling a prestigious main support slot for SikTh back in 2015, rumours were rife that that internal pressures were coming to a head. However, after a stunning live set at Fat Lip Festival in Bristol mid-2017 and the arrival of vocalist’s Lee Tobin’s first child, the band are fully re-energised and are set to return with their fourth studio record The Silence.

Where previous record The Sorrow And The Sound ventured into more mainstream territory, incorporating greater melodic depth but still retaining their metallic hardcore edge, The Silence amps things up even further. Lead single “Timewave Zero” is a great example; the hooky guitars throughout are complimented by a melodic sheen on the chorus. Underpinning all of this are main man Lee Tobin’s ferocious vocals, with that trademark Feed The Rhino groove running all the way through the verses. A decent guitar solo towards the end gives the listener a little change to the overall dynamic, which isn’t something commonly associated with a Feed The Rhino track.

With the increase in mainstream appeal, it’s clear that radio airplay isn’t far from the band’s minds. “Heedless” showcases a stomping riff right from the outset but it’s the catchy chorus that really sticks in the your minds. Nevertheless, Tobin’s snarl and bite is still very much present which gives a good balance.

Feed The Rhino clearly aren’t scared of a slower paced song as evidenced by “Losing Ground“, while “68” demonstrates the sweeping guitar licks that are synonymous with the band. The shift in tone during “All Work And No Play Makes Jack A Dull Boy” is incredibly varied and highlights the band’s desire to step outside of their normal comfort zone and try something a bit different. Indeed, the technical nature of the guitar interplay between James and Sam Colley is one of the highlights of the album.

The record’s atmosphere ramps up during “Fences” before “Featherweight” brings the listener back to more familiar surroundings with a level of chaos commonly associated with their live shows combining clean vocals, screeching discordant guitars and a maniacal chorus with spat lyrics full of venom.

If you liked The Sorrow And The Sound then you’re bound to like what’s on offer with this record. While not particularly delivering anything hugely different in terms of the current market, Feed The Rhino have levelled up the polish, accessibility and mainstream appeal of their sound.