Posted by & filed under Music, Reviews.

The Glorious Rebellion

The Glorious Rebellion Euphoric


8th April 2016 – Magnetic Eye Records

01. It’s a Sucker’s Game, Kid
02. Emmett Brown Has Never Met A Scott That Wasn’t Great
03. Benaquyl
04. Have I Told You Lately That I Loathe You?
05. The Dirtiest Dream Jobs
06. Bitches Hate Misogyny

Uncomplicated angry music is sometimes best in short stabs contained in a brief package, as outlined with The Glorious Rebellion‘s Euphoric, a six-track noise rock/sludge metal EP with no track hitting the four-minute mark. Muscle-bound vitriol sounds like familiar ground for a lots of metal fans, but they’ve already set the bar pretty high; if you go around calling yourself ‘glorious’, you had better be prepared to justify it.

For something self-labelled ‘noise rock,’ one would expect something a little more atonal. Whilst the EP opens with caustic blasts on “It’s a Sucker’s Game, Kid“, the remainder of the release engages less with noise and focuses on being flat-out furious instead. All six short tracks showcase Billy Myers III on his very worst day; the most flat-out pissed-off fucker in that vocal booth at that time. It’s disappointing not to hear the atonal themes re-appear later on the release, as they did a good job of marking this release out from other bands; in particular, the Pantera influence is writ large.

Clearly not a band which has issues with upsetting people, the brevity of the songs allows the ferocity of the instrumentation to be expressed succinctly. Lyrically, The Glorious Rebellion are a little more playful; it’s a little hard to make out if album closer “Bitches Hate Misogyny” is supposed to be tongue-in-cheek. Clearly the band aren’t concerned about who the target is, as long as they’re hitting it.

If they’re leading towards a full-length release, TGR would do well to shake up their songwriting. Six tracks of similarly-paced groove anger play out without much of a break, and though they’re very focussed, more variation in the pace of their grooves or more of a showcase of individual instruments would flesh out their sound without sacrificing any of the ferocity. Similarly, a beefier production would add depth; especially important to a band that relies so heavily on groove. Currently the mix favours the vocalist, doing a good job of making it sound caustic but also leaving Euphoric feeling a little skeletal. It does best when it veers from the path it sets itself; the groove patterns are fairly standard-issue and the vocal style, whilst effective, is a little predictable.

Criticism aside, this release will put The Glorious Rebellion in a strong position to consolidate with future releases and does a good job of sounding genuinely pissed-off. It’s stripped-back, and its furnaces barely contained, but perhaps not quite glorious. If you’re searching for something pissy and vicious then this might just hit the spot.

Tom author banner