Posted by & filed under Music, Reviews.


Marmozets - Knowing What You Know Now album art

Knowing What You Know Now

26th January 2018 – Roadrunner Records

01. Play
02. Habits
03. Meant To Be
04. Major System Error
05. Insomnia
06. Lost In Translation
07. Start Again
08. Like A Battery
09. New Religion
10. Me You
11. Suffocation
12. Run With The Rhythm

It’s been almost four long years since UK alternative rock crew Marmozets burst onto the scene with debut record The Weird And Wonderful Marmozets. Delivering a mixture of technical proficiency, head-banging catchiness and a vocal delivery performance of epic proportions from frontwoman Becca MacIntyre, the band went on to sell out headline UK tours including a main stage appearance at Reading Festival in 2015.

Despite U.S. touring being set back with a knee injury, which hampered plans for quite some time, Becca and co have finally released their follow-up to a rabid audience full of expectation and eagerness.

And things start off very well indeed. Lead single “Play” is pure, unadulterated catchiness, with a mainstream rock underbelly that shoots hooky choruses off the hip like they’re going out of fashion. The band appeared to have toned back their core aggressive, more technical sound in favour of a more mainstream approach; constructing anthemic soundscapes are clearly part of the plan on album number two, which sees early tracks “Habits” and then “Meant To Be” delight the listener with audience-baiting melodies. Having said this, Marmozets do retain part of their original, more technical sound on the latter of those songs, with a few decent shrieks and driving guitar riffs thrown in for good measure. Overall, the reduction of these elements is very much down to preference, but if you’re delivering A* rock material on this sort of scale then a slight deviation in sound can only be a good thing, right?

Elsewhere “Major System Error” includes one of the best riffs on the record, before “Insomnia” takes things down a different path with an odd acoustic vocal performance, ranging in some interesting pitch levels, while the occasional rumble of rhythmic change and atmosphere tries to steer it back round to more familiar waters.

Even if that aforementioned heaviness has been reigned in somewhat on Knowing What You Know Now, “Lost In Translation” carries a turbo-charged, thumping groove throughout with a really modern street-vibe to it; you can almost taste the anarchic, punky spite in Becca’s lyrics and delivery. Similarly, “New Religion” is so catchy it’s sure to be a live favourite for many years to come, while “Run With The Rhythm” probably has the chorus of the album; purely anthemic guitar tones coupled with captivating vocals.

With Becca having one of the best vocal capabilities throughout the rock and metal scene, it would have taken a catastrophic turn of events for this album to be anything but brilliant. If you’re more into Marmozets’ mathy-metal characteristics then you may be a touch disappointed with this effort, but for everyone else (and there’ll be a lot of those people) Knowing What You Know Now is an album of the year contender for sure.