Posted by & filed under Music, Reviews.

Silent Planet

Silent Planet - This Is Sound

Everything Was Sound

1st July 2016 – Solid State Records

01. Inherit The Earth
02. Psychescape
03. Dying In Circles
04. Understanding Love As Loss
05. Tout Comprendre
06. Panic Room
08. Nervosa
09. C’est Tout Pardonner
10. Orphan
11. No Place To Breathe
12. First Father
13. Inhabit The Wound

Since their debut full length The Night God Slept dropped in 2014, L.A.-based Silent Planet have been making waves across the U.S. and the rest of the world. This is no mean feat when you consider the over-saturation of generic Warped Tour metalcore bands that exist solely to flog the singer’s latest clothing line.

But Silent Planet go deeper that that. Their carefully crafted blend of metalcore and emotionally driven post-hardcore draws influence from religion, literature and film, and breathes freshness into a severely sodden market. The Night God Slept was itself a masterpiece; its immediacy and emotion make it an album that becomes part of your very being, and once something sinks in that far you will find yourself asking the immediate question: can they do better?

Once again Silent Planet have weaved a concept with depth and very real connections to the human condition. Its focus is an overarching concept of mental illnesses, and the path from despair to hope. With this, they’ve taken a darker approach to writing the material for this album alongside their more classic ambient approach.

Opening tracks “Inherit The Earth” and “Psychescape” feel very true to Silent Planet’s form in their execution: crushing riffs, interjections of magnificent harmonies that breath and grow whilst feeling evermore suffocating. The latter features some spectacular guest vocals from Underøath legend Spencer Chamberlain, but it’s on “Dying In Circles” and the asphyxiatingly schizophrenic “Panic Room” – particularly the latter – that sees frontman Garret Russell’s vocals transcend into something beautifully scaring and deeply deeply haunting. Its dual-tracked gutterals are chased by frenetic riffs that give no room to take a breath until the ambient intermission that drops you right back into this psychosis, with manic screams of “none of this is real, none of this is real”.

As Everything Was Sound comes to an end, you begin to realise the scope of this undertaking. Its deft mix of harsh and clean vocals, frenetic rhythm sections, gargantuan riffing and ambient passages break up a chaotic wave of mental illness-infused desperation. “Inhabit The Wound” is arguably one of the heavier tracks on this album and the perfect choice for a finale, and rather than petering out into some meandering ambience it smashes itself against every available surface before sliding into a catatonic state.

Silent Planet have taken the time to refine their sound into something even more sharp and precise. Employing hooks and melody without relying on the overused clichés employed by their contemporaries, they’ve packaged musical maturity with an even more refined lyrical palette into something has become ever more succinct whilst still retaining its poetic majesty. Silent Planet are on a path to greatness and with Everything Was Sound they might well have just released the best metalcore album in recent memory.

Adam writer banner