Posted by & filed under Music.

As 2012 draws to a close and everyone eagerly prepares their year end lists behind the scenes (eager to show off how awesome their taste is), it becomes increasingly obvious that the world does indeed continue to spin on and there are many cool things already in the works for 2013. Apparently the music and film industry didn’t get the memo about the world ending next week?

Regardless, now that 2013 is starting to rear its ugly, similar head we’re starting to absorb a trickle down of information for releases that we should all be excited for. Rotting Christ; Greece’s premier black metal band, have finally shared details of their highly anticipated follow-up to 2010′s fantastic release, Aealo.

For the uninitiated Rotting Christ have now been a strong entity in the European extreme metal scene for the last 25 years, since their formation in 1987. Considering their legendary status as one of the first black metal bands to ever appear in Greece (originally they were a grindcore band), you should hopefully be aware of their ever evolving and excellent blend of black/folk/industrial and gothic metal. Aealo was incredibly well received by the metal community and was a further progression into what some people may say as more “mainstream” territory, but really this is a very old band stretching their wings and expanding their sound.

Their music has often been based around Greek mythology and ancient culture, and as such have always stood out as a distinctly culturally interesting extreme metal band. I had the pleasure of witnessing Rotting Christ play live on this year’s Bahamas metal cruise; Barge To Hell. Watching Rotting Christ rip it up on the pool deck with their emotional and powerful mid-paced black metal was a sight to behold. That, and seeing them prancing around at the Mayhem beach party!

Anyway, it’s been three years since the band have released an album, so it comes as no surprise that it’s about time for a new one! The album will be called ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ (“Do What Thou Wilt”) and has been scheduled for release on March 5th, 2013 through Season Of Mist records. The minimalistic and visually striking cover art has already covertly invaded your eyeballs as you’ll find it comfortably nestled at the top of this page. At a time where a lot of bands strive for details and complexity in their album art, it’s interesting to see something so focused in comparison, and it’s particularly strange to discover just how evocative something seemingly simple can be. Combined with the abrasive looking title it really creates a sense of foreboding and mystery, which is pretty impressive considering the lack of activity in the image.

Here’s the full tracklist for ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ.

1 – In Yumen – Xibalba
2 – P’unchaw kachun – Tuta kachun
3 – Grandis Spiritus Diavolos
4 – Κατά τον Δαίμονα του Ἐαυτοὗ
5 – Cine iubeşte şi lasă
6 – Iwa Voodoo
7 – Gilgameš
8 – Русалка
9 – Ahura Mazdā-Aŋra Mainiuu
10 – Χ ξ ς

Sakis Tolis, the band’s enigmatic frontman, recently spoke out in an interview about the direction of the new album claiming:

I came up with our darkest outcome ever… It’s an interesting album, very apocryphal. It’s a multinational album; it is about underworld Gods inspired by different ancient cultures.

It’s pretty interesting that a band so heavily cemented in their Greek mythology and cultural leanings that now choosing to tackle different cultures is a pretty bold and intriguing move. Let’s hope that they are able to extend their winning formula to more realms. If anything this should allow them to expand upon their previously established sound and become even more excited. Colour us excited.

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ will be made available as a CD, a double gate-fold LP, and a limited edition Digibox that includes a pendant in a velvet bag, a flag, and a Digipak CD with the bonus track “Welcome to Hel”. Be sure to keep up with Season Of Mist, Rotting Christ and of course The Monolith for more information as it becomes available.