Posted by & filed under Music, News.

Follow up to Grind The Ocean announced

The Safety Fire - Mouth Of Swords

Sweet baby British tech-metal Batman; if this isn’t some damn tasty news!

That’s right, The Safety Fire, purveyors of fine weedly riffs and one of the most unique young voices on the scene, have announced the follow-up to last year’s excellent Grind The Ocean (which made my personal year-end list)will be out towards the tail end of this year, and will be called Mouth Of Swords.

Whilst this may look like two albums in two years on paper, there are some factors to consider. Firstly, Grind The Ocean came out early in 2012, whilst Mouth Of Swords is slated for a September 2nd release. One must also bear in mind that Grind The Ocean was written long before the band signed with current label InsideOut Music, and so the intermittent time will have been spent crafting another new album; as such, we’re pretty sure their third full-length will not be seen until 2015.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. On the subject of the new record, frontman Sean McWeeney said:

[quote-symbol symbol1]Since our first album we’ve all concentrated more on having awesome haircuts and facial hair. Does that go some way to explaining why Mouth Of Swords is shit hot? Some may suggest so. But all I know is I’m on it and that’s enough for most people. This album is pure gold, and will be priced accordingly.

Guitarist Derya Nagle had this to add:

[quote-symbol symbol1]I must have said “there is no topping Winger’s 1988 classic ‘Winger’ ” on a daily basis during the recording process. I’ve never been wrong about anything in my whole life, so it was a rather humbling experience to realise that what we were creating was in fact better than Winger’s 1988 classic, ‘Winger’. I felt like a bozo deluxe. After a while I came to accept that we had created the best album of all time, ever, in the history of known time. The burden of holding such musical gold was too much for us to handle and the band agreed to release it through InsideOut Music, on September 2nd. I’d like to think the music can speak for itself, but music can’t speak, so I’ll speak on its behalf. Hello. I hope you enjoy me.

As you can see, the band are super serious fellows, and Mouth Of Swords will be no fun whatsoever…

That is, of course, not true. Since Grind The Ocean‘s release, the band have toured extensively in support, and whilst they do enjoy a fine pot of moustache wax of an evening – their love of lip caterpillars being second to none – they’re deadly serious about their art.

So what about a little tracklisting too?

01. Mouth Of Swords
02. Glass Crush
03. Yellowism
04. Beware The Leopard (Jagwar) feat. Tommy Rogers
05. Red Hatchet
06. Wise Hands
07. The Ghosts That Wait For Spring
08. I Am Time, The Destroyer
09. Old Souls

Whilst there are no new tunes as of yet, we don’t have long to wait; “Red Hatchet” will be premiered in a week’s time, so make sure to check back with us and/or their Facebook page to hear it! In the mean time, here’s “Huge Hammers” in case you haven’t heard the band’s frenetic brand of tech.

Disinformasiya banner