Posted by & filed under Features, Music.

In Focus: Uneven Structure


As part of our In Focus artist series, we take a look at April’s band, French progressive post-metal six-piece Uneven Structure, and the albums that got them to where they are now.

We begin with their first record – so good they released it twice…


Uneven Structure - 8 2009

(2009) Self-release

Formed after the split of Longchat, which featured guitarist Igor Omodei and bassist Benoit Friedrich, the earliest iteration of Uneven Structure also included Aurélien Perreira and Jérôme Colombelli on guitar. For self-released 2009 debut EP 8, they recruited Christian Schreil on drums, with Vildhjarta’s Daniel Ädel on session vocals.

As is now customary with Uneven Structure, 8 is essentially one long song divided into movements. If you’ve never heard it, make sure you pack a dictionary; for a band of non-native English speakers, you’re likely to need one to look up some of the lyrics:


“Ever smoldered splendor.
Never grieving pathos.
Being as the clean sword of…

Encompass the sibylline leaves.
The only truth starts in these ruins here.
An altered state of dianoia.

Auscultation of the inner grid of activity.
Proficient selfness won’t cease.”

Another hallmark of Uneven Structure, their poetic leanings are clearly on display, even on this early release. Of course, it could just be an affinity for big words and trying to sound smart – but it all works in concert, and that’s all that really matters.

This release is markedly more aggressive than later outings, lacking some of the atmospherics, but these aspects are certainly there – particularly on the majestic titular closer:


Of course, if you’re not an OG Uneven Structure fan, the version you’re familiar with may sound somewhat different…

Uneven Structure - 8 album art

(2013) Basick Records

As we’ve discussed already, Uneven Structure are known for taking their time, but in an effort to alleviate the wait for a follow up to Februus,they not only re-released 8 in 2013, but re-recorded it entirely with full-time vocalist Matthieu Romarin, as well as new drummer Jean Ferry – and it sounds brilliant.

Romarin is obviously the most notable difference, using his impressive cleans in places where Ädel hadn’t. To match, the newly-recorded instrumentation is much more in line with contemporary Uneven Structure, but there are other, more cosmetic changes, including the runtime (beefed up from 21 to 24 minutes), and some fiddling with the track names (“Capillarity” became “Cardinal” and “Confused Waveforms” became “The Designer’s Lead“.


Both versions are ultimately well worth a listen – the former is free for download from, whereas the Basick Records re-release is more widely available via Bandcamp and Spotify!