Posted by & filed under Film, Music, News.

Uncover the Man Of Steel’s “DNA” with new track

Man Of Steel - Hans Zimmer Soundtrack

Last week we wrote about the first piece of music released from Hans Zimmer‘s score for the impending Superman reboot, Man Of Steel. The main theme titled “An Ideal Hope” was a powerful and rousing number that could contend with the previously thought definitive Superman theme by composer alumni John Williams. It was less bombastic, but reflected the more in depth and serious tone, grounded in emotion that Man Of Steel is attempting to convey. Now, we have another new track released into our grubby mitts for us all to feast on.

This track is simply titled “DNA” and is a more introspective song that the previously epic main theme release. While it still definitely has its moments of heightened drama, propelled forward by the intense attack of strings, it levels out several times into meditative and almost peaceful territory. From all of the stuff released thus far in the production, it’s been made very clear that this will have a strong overarching theme of estrangement, as it explores Superman’s true place in the world and a son with two fathers. Zimmer seems to have embraced this fully with his score and even though we are yet to see the film, the music we’ve heard thus far seems to perfectly align with the filmmaker’s ambitions.

Zimmer says about the track:

“My inspiration for the music came from trying to celebrate all that is good and kind in the people of America’s heartland, without cleverness or cynicism. Just from the heart. The music is less about the icon that Superman is, and more about the outsider with extraordinary powers and his struggle to become a part of humanity.”

Here is the official synopsis for Man Of Steel:

In the pantheon of superheroes, Superman is the most recognized and revered character of all time. Clark Kent/Kal-El (Cavill) is a young twentysomething journalist who feels alienated by powers beyond anyone’s imagination. Transported to Earth years ago from Krypton, an advanced alien planet, Clark struggles with the ultimate question – Why am I here? Shaped by the values of his adoptive parents Martha (Lane) and Jonathan Kent (Costner), Clark soon discovers that having super abilities means making very difficult decisions. But when the world needs stability the most, it comes under attack. Will his abilities be used to maintain peace or ultimately used to divide and conquer? Clark must become the hero known as “Superman,” not only to shine as the world’s last beacon of hope but to protect the ones he loves.

On top of all of this there is a short and more aggressive track entitled “Ignition” that has made its way online. This is most likely in the build up to an action piece as it stampedes in and steamrolls all in its path. Hearing it out of context of the film introduces an interesting juxtaposition to the two pieces released already, although one can’t help but feel it’s likely a track that benefits from being heard as a part of the whole piece. Check it out below.

The tracklisting for the soundtrack is as follows:

01. Look To The Stars
02. Oil Rig
03. Sent Here For A Reason
04. DNA
05. Goodbye My Son
06. If You Love These People
07. Krypton’s Last
08. Terraforming
09. Tornado
10. You Die Or I Do
11. Launch
12. Ignition
13. I Will Find Him
14. This Is Clark Kent
15. I Have So Many Questions
16. Flight
17. What Are You Going To Do When You Are not Saving The World?

Below is a preview of the entire album that is comprised of minute long clips of each track. Check it out if you need more convincing of the overall quality of this soundtrack.

You can pre-order the Man Of Steel soundtrack here, which will be released on June 11th. Man Of Steel is released in cinemas on June 14th and will feature heavily in our June movie round-up. To see the May round-up, check this link.

Are you impressed with what you’ve heard so far? Are you excited for Man Of Steel? Do you think this music is representative of Superman?

Quigs Author banner